Online reading habits


Below is a live feed of articles I've saved and (mostly) read on my raindrop.io account.



Wed Jul 10 2024

Tue Jul 09 2024

  •  Henrietta Lacks - Wikipedia
    Henrietta Lacks - Wikipedia
    Henrietta Lacks was an African-American woman whose cancer cells are the source of the HeLa cell line, the first immortalized human cell line and one of the most important cell lines in medical research. An immortalized cell line reproduces indefinitely under specific conditions, and the HeLa cell line continues to be a source of invaluable medical data to the present day.

Mon Jul 08 2024

  •  Managing Oneself
    Managing Oneself
    Throughout history, people had little need to manage their careers—they were born into their stations in life or, in the recent past, they relied on their companies to chart their career paths. But times have drastically changed. Today we must all learn to manage ourselves. What does that mean? As Peter Drucker tells us in this seminal article first published in 1999, it means we have to learn to develop ourselves. We have to place ourselves where we can make the greatest contribution to our organizations and communities. And we have to stay mentally alert and engaged during a 50-year working life, which means knowing how and when to change the work we do. It may seem obvious that people achieve results by doing what they are good at and by working in ways that fit their abilities. But, Drucker says, very few people actually know—let alone take advantage of—their fundamental strengths. He challenges each of us to ask ourselves: What are my strengths? How do I perform? What are my values? Where do I belong? What should my contribution be? Don’t try to change yourself, Drucker cautions. Instead, concentrate on improving the skills you have and accepting assignments that are tailored to your individual way of working. If you do that, you can transform yourself from an ordinary worker into an outstanding performer. Today’s successful careers are not planned out in advance. They develop when people are prepared for opportunities because they have asked themselves those questions and have rigorously assessed their unique characteristics. This article challenges readers to take responsibility for managing their futures, both in and out of the office.

Sun Jul 07 2024

Thu Jul 04 2024

Wed Jul 03 2024

Mon Jul 01 2024

Tue Jun 25 2024

Sat Jun 22 2024

Fri Jun 21 2024

Thu Jun 20 2024

Wed Jun 19 2024

  •  Screen apnea: What happens to our breath when we type, tap, scroll : Body Electric
    Screen apnea: What happens to our breath when we type, tap, scroll : Body Electric
    Do you have "screen apnea"? Former Microsoft executive Linda Stone coined this term around 2007 after noticing she'd developed an unhealthy habit while answering emails: She held her breath. On this episode, she tells host Manoush Zomorodi how she tested her friends and colleagues for screen apnea and what she has done since.Then, Manoush talks to the bestselling author of Breath, science writer James Nestor, who explains how shallow breathing impacts our physical and mental health. He takes us through a simple exercise to "reset" our breath and relieve screen time stress.Binge the whole Body Electric series here.Sign up for the Body Electric Challenge and our newsletter here.Talk to us on Instagram @manoushz, or record a voice memo and email it to us at [email protected].

Tue Jun 18 2024

  •  Cyber Scarecrow
    Cyber Scarecrow
    An app for scaring away malware
  •  A Note on Essential Complexity
    A Note on Essential Complexity
    The fact that we can’t remove essential complexity with a software redesign doesn’t mean that there’s nothing we can do about it. What if the problem definition wasn’t outside of our purview? What if we could get the world to conform to the software, and not just the other way around?

Mon Jun 17 2024

Sun Jun 16 2024

Sat Jun 15 2024

Wed Jun 12 2024

Tue Jun 11 2024

Mon Jun 10 2024

Sun Jun 09 2024

Thu Jun 06 2024

Tue Jun 04 2024

Mon Jun 03 2024

Sun Jun 02 2024

Sat Jun 01 2024

Fri May 31 2024

Thu May 30 2024

Wed May 29 2024

Tue May 28 2024


Comments

Home · RSS · Music · Twitter · Github Personal · Github Normally · NPM · Linkedin

© 2024 Nic Mulvaney